Ten Great Phone Booth Scenes

By Dan Delgado

I don’t know about you, but I miss phone booths.  Maybe there’s still one left where you live but the only ones near me are those non working red ones sitting outside of British pubs.  If I want to see a phone booth these days, I have to watch a movie.

In movies, a phone booth is a great setting.  Desperate people needing help, nervous people calling out warnings, angry people needing to shout, or even some nerd looking to change clothes are frequently seen in them.  Here is a few scenes I thought of.

True Romance

Sex in a phone booth!  What won’t those crazy kids do?  Here Christian Slater and Patricia Arquette are so hot for each other they simply can’t wait.  On the flip side, no one needs to see Michael Rapaport on the toilet.

 

Goodfellas

Robert De Niro hears the news about (SPOILER!) Joe Pesci’s death and beats up the phone booth.  Notice how he kicks it over, but you only hear it fall.

 

Midnight Run

I love how this phone booth is clearly in the middle of nowhere.  I also love Robert De Niro’s head shake to Charles Grodin.  It’s perfect.

 

Three Days of the Condor

This one is a cheat.  Robert Redford is using just a regular pay phone, but when I think of this movie he’s in a phone booth.  Perfect example of the desperation you find in movie phone booth scenes.  He’s gone to his job as a CIA analyst and finds everyone dead and runs out to make a desperate call.  Years later Mission: Impossible would do the exact same scene (which I couldn’t find a clip of)..

 

Jumping Jack Flash

Yeah, I know this is not a great movie, but it’s not terrible either.  Certainly the most memorable thing in this movie is Whoopi Goldberg’s “I’m a little black woman in a big silver box,” line.  Though I must admit, I’m pretty sure this call would have been disconnected at some point.

 

The Birds

Tippi Hedren runs into a phone booth while being attacked by birds.  It’s a neat scene but she should have just stayed inside.

 

Falling Down

Michael Douglas shoots up a phone booth.  Feel free to look at the giant inflatable booty in the background that says “SirMixaLot” on it.

 

The Blob

People get killed in phone booths all the time.  Here in the craptastick remake of The Blob, a woman thought running into a phone booth would be a good idea.  Spoiler alert: It’s not.

 

Dumb and Dumber

Mike Starr’s finest moment as an actor was in a phone booth.

 

Repo Man

Why this?  You need to have at least ONE scene of a car driving through a phone booth.

 

Bonus Scene: Phone Booth

I figure if I don’t put a scene from Phone Booth in a list of movie scenes in phone booths someone’s gonna get testy about it.  Hey, I get it, the whole movie just about takes place in one.  So here you go.  Now clam up.

Certainly not a definitive list and I’m sure there’s plenty I missed.  There was a number of them that I looked for and simply could not find.  Got any suggestions?  Leave a comment and let me know.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

